Sunday, June 17, 2007

The Other Quadrilateral

Anglicanism affirms a four-fold basis for visible Christian unity and for the fullness of the Church as the Body of Christ. The Chicago-Lambeth Quadrilateral lays out the essential boundaries of Anglicanism quite well.

The four principles of the Chicago-Lambeth Quadrilateral are Scripture, Creeds, Sacraments, and the Historic Episcopate. These four principles have roots that reach all the way back to the ancient, undivided Church.

During the 20th Century, successive meetings of the Lambeth Conference of Bishops and the General Convention of the Episcopal Church have reaffirmed their importance.

For we who inhabit the Anglican/Episcopal way of being Christian, these principles define the minimum requirements for being a part of the one, holy, catholic and apostolic Church.And so the Chicago-Lambeth Quadrilateral crystallizes centuries of Christian thought into a concise statement of principles that provide the basis for both our core identity and for ecumenical dialogue.

But there is a complementary way to express the essentials of the Anglican Via Media.

In his essay "The Other Quadrilateral," James Packer offers four other markers of Anglicanism that complement the Chicago-Lambeth Quadrilateral. In particular, he talks about Anglicanism in the following four ways:
  1. catholic Christianity;
  2. canonical Christianity;
  3. creedal Christianity; and
  4. comprehensive Christianity

Read it all.

No comments: